Skip to main content
Important Notice!

Breastfeeding is the best nutrition for healthy growth and development of babies. Good maternal nutrition helps sustain an adequate supply and quality of breast milk. Unnecessary introduction of bottle-feeding, partially or fully, or of other complementary foods and drinks may have a negative impact on breastfeeding, which may be irreversible. Consult your doctor and consider the social and financial implications before deciding to use breast milk substitutes or if you have difficulty breastfeeding. Follow usage, preparation and storage instructions of breast milk substitutes or of other complementary foods and drinks carefully as improper or unnecessary use may pose a health hazard.

ASIF6054_cropped

What you need to know about Constipation

One clue is less frequent bowel movements than baby’s norm—she hasn't had one in three or more days and is obviously uncomfortable when she does have one. Another clue is hard, dry stools that are difficult for her to pass.

Possible causes
 

  • Formula. Exclusively breastfed babies are rarely constipated. Stools are almost always soft. If your baby is on formula and constipated, ask your baby's doctor about switching brands.
  • The introduction of solids. Your baby might be mildly constipated. Rice cereal, usually the first solid food, is low in fiber. Switch to barley or oat cereal, or add pureed fruits or vegetables to her regular cereal. Once your baby is eating a variety of solid foods, ask her doctor if you can boost her fiber intake.
  • Dehydration. If your baby isn't getting enough fluid, her system will respond by absorbing more fluid from whatever she eats or drinks—and from the waste in her bowels, as well. Increase the amount of fluid your baby drinks. If your baby is older than 2 months, give her 1 ounce of prune juice diluted with 1 ounce of water, twice a day.
  • A medical condition or illness. Talk to your baby's doctor about treatment options if constipation is due to an underlying medical condition such as hypothyroidism, metabolic disorders, food allergies and botulism, or rarely, Hirschsprung's disease, which prevents the gut from functioning properly.

What else can you do to help your constipated baby?
 

  • Get her some exercise—a few laps crawling. If she's not crawling yet, try this: on her back, gently move her legs as if pedaling.
  • Massage baby's belly. At 3 finger-widths below her navel, apply gentle but pressure with fingertips until you feel a firmness or mass. Maintain gentle but constant pressure for 3 minutes.
  • Ask your doctor’s approval for using a stool softener or laxative. The doctor may suggest an occasional glycerin suppository to stimulate the rectum and help her pass a stool.
  • If hard, dry stools tear the delicate skin near the opening of her anus, apply some aloe vera lotion to the area to help it heal, or see your baby's doctor.
We use cookies to personalize and enhance your experience on our site. Visit our Privacy Policy to learn more or manage your personal preferences in our Cookie Consent Tool. By using our site, you agree to our use of cookies.

تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي
تنبيه هام!
الرضاعة الطبيعية هي أفضل تغذية لنمو الأطفال الرضع وتطورهم الصحي. تساعد الرضاعة الطبيعية الجيدة على توفير كمية ونوعية كافيتين من حليب الأم. والابتداء بالرضاعة من القنينة بدون ضرورة، إن كان جزئيا أو كليا، أو بغيرها من الأغذية والمشروبات التكميلية، يمكن أن يكون له تأثير سلبي على الرضاعة الطبيعية، مما قد يكون لا رجعة فيه. يستحسن استشارة الطبيب والنظر في الآثار الاجتماعية والمالية قبل أن تقرري استخدام بدائل لحليب الأم أو إذا كنت تواجهين صعوبة في الرضاعة الطبيعية. تجب مراعاة تعليمات الاستخدام والتحضير والتخزين لبدائل حليب الأم أو غيرها من الأغذية والمشروبات التكميلية بدقة لأن استخدامها الخاطئ أو غير الضروري يمكن أن يشكل خطرا على الصحة.
ASIF6054_cropped

الإمساك

دليل واحد هي حركات الأمعاء أقل تواترا من العادة والمعايير أنه لم يكن الطفل يخرج الا مرة كل واحد الى ثلاثة أيام أو أكثر، ووضوح عدم الارتياح عندما يخرج. دليل آخر هو البراز الجاف الصلب الذي يصعب بالنسبة للطفل إخراجه.
 

  • الأسباب المحتملة
    • الحليب البديل. ونادرًا ما يُصاب الرضع الذين يتلقون رضاعةً طبيعيةً خالصةً بالإمساك. دائمًا ما يكون البراز طريًا. إذا كان طفلك يتناول الحليب البديل ويعاني من الإمساك، فاسألي الطبيب عن تغيير العلامات التجارية.
    • إدخال المواد الصلبة. قد تكون إصابة طفلك بالإمساك معتدلة. وعادةً ما تكون حبوب الأرز أول الأطعمة الصلبة، فهي تحتوي على القليل من الألياف. غيري طعامه إلى الشعير أو حبوب الشوفان، أو أضيفي الفواكه أو الخضار المهروس لطعامه العادي من الحبوب. وعندما يصبح طفلك قادرًا على تناول مجموعة متنوعة من الأطعمة الصلبة، اسألي الطبيب عن إمكانية زيادة كمية الألياف.
    • الجفاف. وإذا كان طفلك لا يحصل على ما يكفي من السوائل، فإن نظامه سيستجيب لذلك عن طريق امتصاص سوائل أكثر من أي طعام شراب يتناوله ــ ومن نفايات الأمعاء، كذلك. زودي كمية السوائل التي يتناولها طفلك. إذا كان طفلك يبلغ من العمر أكثر من شهرين، فأعطه أونصةً واحدةً من عصير البرقوق المخفف بأونصةً من الماء، مرتين في اليوم.
    • حالة طبية أو مرض. تحدثي إلى طبيب طفلك بشأن خيارات العلاج إذا كان الإمساك ناجمًا عن حالة طبية كامنة مثل قصور الغدة الدرقية، أو اضطرابات التمثيل الغذائي، أو الحساسية الغذائية، أو التسمم الغذائي، أو نادرًا، داء هيرشسبرونغ، والذي يمنع الأمعاء من العمل بشكل صحيح.
  • ما الذي يمكنك القيام به أيضًا لمساعدة طفلك الذي يعاني من الإمساك؟
    • اجعليه يقوم ببعض التمارين ــ بضع لفات من الحبو. إذا لم تكن قادرة بعد على الحبو، فحاول القيام بهذا الأمر: اجعليها تستلقي على ظهرها، ثم قومي بتحريك رجليها بلطف كما لو كانت تستعمل دواسة القدم بالعجلة.
    • قومي بتدليك بطن الطفل. قومي بتدليك طفلك أسفل سرته بثلاثة أصابع، بلطف ولكن مع الضغط بأطراف الأصابع حتى تشعري بصلابة ما تحت الجلد.
    • اطلبي الموافقة من الطبيب على استخدام الملينات. قد يشير الطبيب إلى تحاميل الجلسرين العرضي لتحفيز المستقيم والمساعدة على إخراج البراز.
  • إذا تسبب البراز الصلب الجاف في تمزق الجلد الحساس بالقرب من فتحة الشرج، ضعي بعضًا من غسول الصبار على تلك المنطقة لتساعد على الشفاء، أو استشيري طبيب طفلك
نستخدم ملفات تعريف الارتباط لتخصيص تجربتك وتحسينها على موقعنا. يرجى الاطلاع على سياسية الخصوصية الخاصة بنا لمعرفة المزيد، أو إدارة تفضيلاتك الشخصية في أداة الموافقة على ملفات تعريف الارتباط الخاصة بنا. استخدام موقعنا الإلكتروني يعني الموافقة على ملفات تعريف الارتباط الخاصة بنا.